For the look of Relax in a worsted weight yarn, take a look at Worsted Boxy.

If You Liked Purgatorio, You’ll Love Inferno

Dear Ann,
This is a case of using one’s blog as a goad to finish something. Whatever gets me through the night, you know?
olivericord29.jpg
This is what 29 squares of i-cord edging looks like. (For subscribers to welovethatchair.com, I apologize for the lack of upholstery reveal. Maybe tomorrow. Keep hope alive.)
Good news! I am only 4 squares away from the halfway point, because I only have 66 squares in the edges, not 76 as previously calculated by the Kay-o-meter. (38 + 28=66. This is very well established.) I’m also working them faster than predicted. With the writer’s strike, you can pay more attention to your knitting, due to fewer laff breaks. I was knitting for about 2.5 hours yesterday.
lithumbooks.jpg
Now here’s a pernicious sapper of perfectly good knitting time: Great Books. Years ago I told a professorial pal that the next time it was his turn to teach that freshman Lit. Hum. class, I wanted to audit. Well, danged if it isn’t his turn this semester. That’s me in the back of the class. The one with the unexposed abdomen and no laptop. The one who is not 19. The one who is not making any interesting remarks about St. Augustine. (Yet–I feel one coming on!)
Except for Pride and Prejudice (which informs every moment of every day), my only previous acquaintance with any of these books was through crossword puzzles. Guess what: The Aeneid? A page-turner! Torrid! Who knew?
Love,
Kay

Tags:

58 Comments

58 Comments

  1. Well, I wish I could have that blanket, please, and sit in on that class! The Aeneid, yes, book 4… so wonderful! And Hamlet, with the funeral baked meats coldly furnishing forth the marriage table. (My dad said that whenever we had leftovers…)
    Enjoy!

  2. I am so so jealous of your class. So jealous.

  3. You are a brave soul, Kay. Freshmen Lit. Yikes. As I’ve gotten older I notice that they keep letting younger and younger people into college. How old are freshmen now? Twelve? The blanket is turning out be-yoo-tee-ous-ly (or is it beautifically?) Keep up the good work.

  4. It is a truth universally acknowledged that a knitter working miles of i-cord must be in want of distraction…or a stiff drink.

  5. I’ve had a go at about half the books. I struggled with the Aeneid and with Purgatory. I like St. Augustine’s Confessions, and Hamlet is good but much better when you’ve also seen it. I had a really hard time with Don Quixote, but I was reading it in Spanish, not English. And of course, Pride and Prejudice is pretty much a foundation of my existence. I came to it late (when the most recent movie came out, actually), but since then have read it at least a dozen times.

  6. Great Books. I’ve been attempting that version of Cervantes for a while and coincidentally was speaking about it last night. Seeing it on your book shelf is probably the sign that I need to pick it up again.

  7. DYING to see that blanket.
    St. Augustine worked it for us for one of our once (and future?) famous snail mail party invites: “Lord, give me chastity and continence. But not yet.” Party was a “sinners & saints” party on All Souls Day. Any excuse, man.

  8. Kay, what a wonderful class! Sorry, work, must go read now. . . And I want your blanket!! Even though I already have one. You know, there’s enough sock yarn in this house that I could easily knit 300 itty bittys and put them together. But the i-cord? Not so sure about the i-cord.

  9. To bad no Ovid Metamorphoses. Steamy stuff. No wonder he got banned :-)
    I have read Dante several times, Hell is of course the most fun. The wasters and the hoarders. I wonder if yarn stash counts as hoarding? Better not to think about it. I don’t want to be pushing boulders up hill for eternity
    Your blanket is glorious. It should be hanging on a wall as art

  10. Enjoy your class! And enjoy it even more because – auditing? no papers, no deadlines, no grades! Education at its finest! just soak it in.
    Those classical writers…gotta love ‘em. A little Pliny, a little Xenophon, and pretty soon you realize that there is, truly, “nothing new under the sun.” And what’s more, THEY knew it, too.
    (I wonder if they had i-cord? Probably it was what Ulysses used to hoist his sails.)

  11. I have serious literature class envy, here. Debilitating.

  12. My graduation from college at age 42 convinced me that we do things bass-ackwards by sending energetic young people to sit in classrooms. You shouldn’t be able to go to college until at least 35, by which time all those distractions that currently keep students from their studies have become part of the fabric of your middle-aged life. Or you’ve gone to rehab and gotten over them. And by 35, you can probably wake up before noon and you’re GRATEFUL for an excuse to plant yourself in a chair for an hour. Enjoy, enjoy…it’ll be a cultural awakening. And you might learn something about the lit, too.

  13. You are so lucky! I wish I could take that class too! I feel so dumb for not doing something like that in college, though I did read a lot of great literature in high school (even the Aeneid, in Latin class. It killed me– it took the whole school year and only got through book 4.)
    It is hard to find time to read with all the knitting isn’t it? I keep buying books that I want to read, but I can’t find the time to sit down and read them, as when I sit down I just want to pull out the needles. (Maybe I need to learn how to knit and read at the same time, ala EZ.)

  14. Ohh…I’m jealous, I would love to take Lit Hum again. Enjoy!

  15. I’ve often thought I’d enjoy college more now that I did the first time. But, I wouldn’t be going back for Lit. Glad you’re enjoying it. I’d go back for the Architecture History class I slept through the first time.

  16. I’d like to speak up in defense of 19 year old freshman everywhere and remind you that we are smart (despite the bottle-blond) young women who are also doing a lot of homework(to break up the monotony of the partying and flirting). Some of us are even knitters. . .

  17. Hamlet is wonderful—if you get stuck rent the Kenneth Branaugh version of the film. Shakespeare is much better aloud.
    I’m a hard core Jane Austen girl too–though I think for me it’s a toss up between Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion. There’s a slightly sadder tone to the book that makes the romance all the sweeter.
    I’ll put Aeneid on my list–never had to wade through that. Good luck with Augustine, I had to struggle through that one for a college class and hated it.

  18. “Pride and Prejudice” informs every moment of my everyday too I think..When I talk about it or “Sense and Sensibility” my sister always says ‘I thought you hated that book” and I have to say that no, I hated “Crime and Punishment”..She gets the titles confused, which is understandable. I think we make people start reading “great books” at too young an age. I think I would like some classics I read a few years ago better now. (She says from the lofty age of..19..) I really really really love that owl, by the way..

  19. Oh the blanket is gorgeous! Good work!
    Is that a Moonstitches-esque owl I see perched next to all those classics?

  20. Gasp–our first little peek at the crazy stripey border!!! How fantastic! Now, I must go re-read Pride and Prejudice….

  21. Wow – the Aeneid – how I loved that when we read it in Latin (almost 50 years ago!). I’ve been thinking about brushing up my Latin (it’s not a skill one gets to use very often) – maybe rereading the Aeneid will give me the incentive to do so.

  22. And Crime and Punishment is one of my favorite books of all time – I read all of the Russian classics in high school too (for pleasure not a class) maybe it’s time to reread them too.

  23. How absolutely wonderful Kay – I am inspired. What a great idea! I can see plainly that you are the wise quirky owl in the back of the class!

  24. Kay:
    Lit Hum! In my case, that was certainly youth being wasted on the young. I would kill to go back and take that class again… not to mention its philosophical counterpart, Contemporary Civilization. (Also, note that Lit Hum is actually a full year. You’re missing out on The Odyssey, the Old and New Testaments and a lot of good Greek plays. So, I’ve got your fall planned for you, too.)
    Enjoy!
    PS: *I* never exposed my midriff in class.
    PPS: Okay, I did. But it was to make a really good point about Plato’s cave in “The Republic.” Long story…

  25. Kay:
    Lit Hum! In my case, that was certainly youth being wasted on the young. I would kill to go back and take that class again… not to mention its philosophical counterpart, Contemporary Civilization. (Also, note that Lit Hum is actually a full year. You’re missing out on The Odyssey, the Old and New Testaments and a lot of good Greek plays. So, I’ve got your fall planned for you, too.)
    Enjoy!
    PS: *I* never exposed my midriff in class.
    PPS: Okay, I did. But it was to make a really good point about Plato’s cave in “The Republic.” Long story…

  26. At regina, gravi iamdudum, saucia cura, vulnus alit venis…
    But the queen, for a long time now, wounded by her hidden cares feeds the wound with her life blood (and is consumed by its hidden pain).
    Twelve years after studying Aeneid, in Latin (can’t remember which book) that’s all I can remember. Oh and the bit where Dido and Aeneas go hunting. That’s a bit torrid and then some!
    ~x~

  27. At regina gravi iamdudum saucia cura vulnus alit venis
    But the queen, wounded for a long time now feeds the wound with her lifeblood (and is consumed by her hidden cares)…
    I remember that from Latin class 12 years ago. The only other bit I can remember is from when Dido and Aeneas go hunting. Torrid doesn’t even begin to describe that bit…
    Enjoy! ~x~

  28. Please tell us everything about that owl. I love the owl. Blanket is lookin’ real good.
    P.S. About Hamlet, the uncle did it.

  29. Don Quixote… surely one of the best books ever to keep me up past bedtime!

  30. I’m listening to the classics on CD now as my knitting companion – who needs writers and TV? Take THAT! Blat!
    lol
    No, I’ll go back, IF they ever do.
    That blanket is stunning!
    (((Hugs)))

  31. With a good unabridged audiobook, you can “read” and knit at the same time.
    In the last 4 years of my subscription to Audible, I’ve listened to 295 books (and those are just the ones I’ve used Audible to obtain). I’ve always been a huge bookworm, and yes I do still sit down with an actual book (currently, Claudius the God by Robert Graves), but I love love love a well-read book!

  32. I don’t know what university you’re taking this class though…but ironically those are pretty much the same books I had to read in my freshman lit (I guess it’s the same no matter where you go eh?).
    But god do I love Dante and Hamlet. Really. I am the only person I know who reads Hamlet for fun and owns three translations of the Divine Comedy. And no, I am not an english major (ironically, I am a Russian major – and I have not read Crime and Punishment or any of the other classics of Russian literature…go figure)

  33. ‘Torrid’. One of my favourite words! I jsy love the way it sounds. And as a subscriber to ilovethatchair.com, I GASPED OUT LOUD when I saw that outer, diagonal stripy border, and have to say I didn’t even miss the chair.
    Who do I need to bribe to get that blanket? I mean BRIBE. I don’t fancy my chances with just tickets-in-a-raffle.

  34. I too love the owl!

  35. I’m currently reading that same translation of Don Quixote for fun. You understand. You’re taking the class for fun. Don Quixote will fill the laffs back into your solemn writer’s strike existence.

  36. That Dido sure is a saucy minx, isn’t she?
    I’m insanely jealous. I miss the days when I got to read great books and it actually counted for something. (Hell, I miss the days when I got to read great books! Loss of interest in reading is a terrible side effect of a job that requires you to read all day.)

  37. Oh, the Aeneid. I love that book. Enjoy it.
    I graduated from college two years ago, and I’m about to start re-reading all my freshman humanities books. Delicious. :)

  38. COME ON!!!
    you cannot post a picture like that with the books and the CUTEST OWL EVER without telling us where you got it? or how you made it??? :o)
    and I Love how you guys guys put the variegated sock yarn squares around the semisolid squares.
    it really WORKS!!!
    and congrats on the progress on the i-cord edging. you are a much stronger knitter than I. Knit On Woman!!! :o) elaine.

  39. Keep up the good i-cord work!
    I want to join the Cutest Ever Owl fan club. Did you make it yourself?

  40. English Lit.??? I thought those were Comic Book Classics…..(wise old owl that I am)
    By the way, luuuuuuuuuvvv the I-cord!!
    Hooty-hoot,hooty-hoot!
    LoveDiane

  41. Oooh, I really enjoyed that translation of Don Quixote. I haven’t read nearly as many of those books as I probably ought to have (I haven’t ready any Virgil). I always enjoy reading literature now that I am reading them on my own terms. That made a huge difference for me.

  42. wah… I still can’t see my 2 little squares anywhere.. darn me.. for using my favorite color.. ‘soft mossy greens’… they just don’t ANNOUNCE their location as well as.. say: ORANGE or something bright like that. However, I’m sure that they are happy somewhere with sewn together with their other little knitted ‘square friends.’

  43. I knew! I knew! (the Aeneid a page-turner!) :)
    That blanket is SO GREAT! I adore the edging (zig-zaggy!) Go you with the i-cord. XO

  44. I’ve wanted to audit a number of my friends’ classes over the years, that’s great that you are actually doing it! Perhaps now I will too, one day….

  45. Damn, woman, that’s a great job on the arrangement and assemblage of the squares. It’s your legal training, right? ;-)

  46. Jane in London/Camden: off the top of our heads here in Geekville, that sounds like Book 4.1-2.
    If you think the Aeneid is torrid in English, I highly recommend it in Latin. And Book 4 is about as easy as Latin epic poems get!! And then throw in some Catullus for good measure (if you think Vergil is sexy, watch out!). My husband bought me Book 4 when we started dating. I wasn’t sure if it was a good sign, given the end of the story…

  47. Wow–good for you! I’m in the same boat: I’m taking Drawing II along with at least 10-15 very young, multiple-pierced, dyed-hair artist types…I’m the one in plain old jeans, with my natural hair color, and nary an idea of how to hold the charcoal…yup, that’s me.
    I remember when I took humanities in college–I was stunned at how much I enjoyed the Odyssey, of all things. It was great! Have fun with your class.

  48. Woo hoo! I was finally able to definitively spot one of my squares on your blog! :) (Yeah, simple pleasures and all that.)
    The owl by those books is absolutely adorable. :)

  49. I love the arrangement of the squares in the outer border; the zigzag order really makes the whole blanket “pop.” Keep up the good work on the i-cord edging. Think of the joy and excitement when you round the last corner and head down the home stretch!
    For the first 3 years after I graduated from college, I was on the staff of that same university, admitting new students. Imagine my surprise when I began seeing admission applications for people with whom I had babysat in years past. It made me feel so ancient, and I was all of 22-25 years old at the time!

  50. I’ve been working my way through unread classics via Librivox.org and it turns out that while I can’t stand to *read* Dickens, I can listen (and knit) to him just fine. He’s actually very funny. (Pickwick Papers, currently.) Who knew?

  51. I am a big fan of classic lit and recently read Crime and Punishment – it was amazing. Enjoy! : )

  52. oh, st. augustine, the bane of my second semester lit hum class. his name still makes my stomach clench a little waiting for that guy (you know, “that guy”) in the second row to get on his st. augustine soapbox for the next hr. i think that’s the only book i full-on boycotted that year. (ps. does this mean you get to audit CC in the fall?)

  53. What? No Joyce? No Moby Dick? No Erica Jong?
    (sorry, I’m bad)
    I love with a passion that burns hotter than the fires of inferno that blanket. It’s the diagonal striped squares around the edge that send me over it.

  54. So…where is your blog on Ravelry where you discuss political issues, etc.? I’m up for listening. I went on over to Mason-Dixon Knitting, but didn’t find it there. Thanks.
    Joan

  55. Ooh Aeneid (or EEneid as some as my latin lecturers pronouced it)that takes me back. Was I the only one who though Aeneas was a pompous git (with his *mission*)? Crime and punishment is also wonderful and deeply intense. I second the comment to listen to Hamlet rather than read (both is probably best if you want to pass the class). Which reminds me David Tennant (Dr who) is playing Hamlet this year at Stratford…

  56. I’m one of the wackos who loved crime and punishment, maybe a knitting book group?? Anyway, enjoy it, and I love the blanket, still hoping to win it!

  57. I have read all those books and love them. Especially Don Quixote. Favorite book ever. BTW the blanket is so beautiful!!

  58. Try listening to some of the classics while knitting — I find some of them more interesting to hear than to read. I mean — really — isn’t Virgil supposed to be read? (Check out librivox.org — audiobooks for free.)